Central Florida Community Leader Glen Davis Elected to Chair YMCA Metro Board

Glen Davis, an Orlando area business leader and retired President and CEO of Schuff Steel-Atlantic, has been elected chair of the 2013 YMCA of Central Florida Metropolitan Board of Directors. Davis replaces outgoing chair Helena Ryan. In addition to serving on the Y Metro Board and Executive Committee, Davis also chaired the Y’s 2013 Annual Support Campaign, which raised $2.5 million for local children, families and seniors in need. Long active in the community, he currently serves on the Seaside National Bank & Trust Board and has previously served with the SunTrust Advisory Board, the Children Home Society Board and the Country Club of Orlando, where he held the role of board president. Following his election during the Y’s May 16 annual meeting, Davis said, “I’d like to thank the many partners, donors, volunteers and staff who have made the Y’s programs and accomplishments possible. As we look to the year ahead, I hope you’ll remain committed as the Y’s momentum and life-changing work continues to build.” Rounding out the Y’s 2013 slate of officers are Secretary, Ralph Martinez; Treasurer, Mike Manuel; and Past Chair, Helena Ryan. Also elected to the Metro board were five new community leaders, including Jim Alessandro, Senior Vice President, Distribution Marketing & Sales Planning and Development, Walt Disney World Resort; Rich Panner, Regional Vice President Southeast, Pepsi Beverages Company; Wayne Rich, Attorney, Broad and Cassel; Lynette Swinski, Vice President, Merchandise, SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment; and Jim Henningsen, President, College of Central Florida, Ocala. In recognition of 20-plus years of exemplary service to the board, the following trustees were also unanimously approved: Chas Bailes, Mary Rumberger, Clarence Otis, Jr., Barbara Roper and Tom Warlick. Returning members of the board include:
  • Mary Jane Arrington
  • Rob Baker
  • Lou Carrion
  • Steve Davis
  • Robin Fisher
  • Sandy Hostetter
  • Orman Kimbrough
  • Charlie Pierce
  • Kran Riley
  • John Varley
  • Chip Webb
  • Steve Wingo