YMCA Annual Meeting : The Best Is Yet To Come

More than 400 guests and community leaders attended the YMCA of Central Florida’s Annual Meeting, which recognized the leading 2013 partners, volunteers, donors and staff who helped advance the Y’s cause to strengthen the foundation of our community. The event was held at the Garden Theatre in Winter Garden, FL on May 7, 2014.

During the program, four Y volunteers received a special recognition.

  • Lou Carrion received the annual John W. Sterchi Award. The John W. Sterchi Award is the YMCA of Central Florida’s highest honor recognizing outstanding lifetime support. Carrion, a tireless advocate for youth, helped develop the Hispanic Leaders program, which has now become a valuable component to the Y Teen Achievers program.
  • Steve Wingo received the 2013 Ronnie Walker Unsung Hero Award. The Unsung Hero Award is presented to a Y volunteer who has selflessly given their time and talent to the Y cause. Steve chaired the recent $4.5 million dollar capital campaign for the Frank Deluca YMCA in Marion County and he is a member of the YMCA of Central Florida Executive Board.
  • Joe Cleveland, aretired Chief Information Officer for Lockheed Martin, received the inaugural YMCA Mind Connect Award. Cleveland led the way in creating the YMCA Lockheed Martin Technology Center at the South Orlando Y and later at the Tangelo Park Y.
  • Barbara Roper receivedthe first annual Metropolitan Advocacy Award. The Metropolitan Advocacy Award is new award that recognizes a volunteer leader who has devoted their life to the Y cause. Roper has dedicated more than 100,000 hours of her time to the Y cause across a span of 40 years.  She served as the first woman to chair the YMCA of Central Florida Metropolitan Board in 1980-1981, and she later served as Chair of the YMCA’s national board. The award was announced during a special video presentation recognizing Ropers lifetime support.

2013 YMCA Metropolitan Board Chair Glen Davis highlighted the Y’s past-year achievements in the three focus areas of Youth Development, Healthy Living and Social Responsibility. Davis also discussed the organization’s 2014-2018 Long Term Strategic Plan, which will include expansion of current facilities and a new facility in Clermont.


The YMCA of Central Florida honored its Spotlight Partner: Dr. Phillips Charities with a special video presentation. Dr. Phillips Charities Board Members: Jim Hinson, Ken Robinson, Dr. Ann Manley, Eva Tukdarian and Dr. Margaret Miller were present for the event.


A special highlight of the evening included the announcement of an expanded partnership with Orlando Health.  Effective May 1, Orlando Health became the provider of health and wellness programs at five YMCA locations including: Dr. P. Phillips, Roper, Wayne Densch, South Lake and a future YMCA Family Center in Clermont. Orlando Health presented a check for $1 million, to be paid to the YMCA of Central Florida over three-years. This investment will help fund capital, operational and programmatic improvements, as well as supporting programs for those who cannot afford preventive based care.

The Y also thanked and honored its top major donors: The Roper Family, Winter Park Health Foundation, Darden, Wayne Densch Charities, Florida Hospital, Orange County Government, City of Orlando, Harris Rosen, WESH-TV, Tavistock, Walt Disney World, Osceola County, Lockheed Martin, The Bert Martin Foundation, Bank of America, Pepsi, Microsoft, Munroe Regional Medical Center and Frank DeLuca.

Each Y family center honored their respective Volunteers of the Year:

  • Teen Achievers, Lynn Nicholson and Dana Bell
  • Aquatic Center, Cliona Nestor
  • Avalon Park, Lucian Chenard
  • Blanchard Park, Steve Martin
  • Camp Wewa, Nate White
  • Cocoa, Andrea Spencer
  • Crosby, Sue Bellissimo
  • Downtown, Kathy Panter
  • Dr. Phillips, David Knight
  • Elementary Schools, Elaine Martinez
  • Frank DeLuca YMCA, StevE Wingo
  • Golden Triangle, Joel Tooley and Amy McCrory
  • Healthy Living, Dr. Thomas Wan
  • J. Douglas Williams, Bob Garrison
  • Lake Nona, Kristie Frieze, David Chong, Marshia Hale and Mark Benson
  • Middle Schools, Melanie Cleveland
  • Osceola, Miles Moore and Jeremy Mansfield
  • Oviedo, Deborah Pagan
  • Roper, Lori Burshan
  • South Orlando, Yolanda Webb
  • Suntree, Audrey DiFalco
  • Tangelo Park, Erick Green and Ernestine Swann
  • Titusville, Gene Loyd
  • WDW Resort: Lake Buena Vista, Marnita Fry
  • WDW Resort: Sherberth, Amanda Robertson
  • Wayne Densch, Felicia Moorer-Carmichael
  • Winter Park, David Meier

The Frank DeLuca YMCA receivedthe Pinnacle Award for the sixth year in a row. The award honors a YMCA Family Center with exceptional achievements in revenue growth, volunteer support and financial stewardship. Ben Marciano, YMCA District Vice President of Operations, who manages the Frank Deluca YMCA, received this year’s Jim Ferber award for outstanding leadership and unwavering commitment to the Y cause and mission.

At the conclusion of the meeting Davis passed the gavel to Charlie Egerton, the newly installed 2014 Metro Board Chair. Charlie Egerton discussed his vision for the future and helped install ten new community leaders to the Metro Board. These new leaders, elected to serve a two year term, include the following: Sonja Nicholson, Broker/Owner, REMAX, Michael Wilde, Attorney, Baker Hostetter, Ken Robinson, President/CEO Dr. Phillips Charities, Pete Krzyzak, Financial Advisor, Wells Fargo, Paul Cavaliere, Director, Missiles and Fire Control, Lockheed Martin, Dr. Robert Ford, Professor (retired), UCF College of Business Administration, Eddy Moratin, Executive Director, LIFT Orlando, Paul Roldan, CPA/Owner, Allgan Financial Services, Jim Lewis, Regional V.P. & General Manager, Walmart Corp.,Ocala and Pastor Willie Barnes, Macedonia Church Eatonville.